Prayer to be filled with the Holy Spirit

Father, I thank you that you are who you say you are: loving, giving, righteous, gracious, merciful, kind and more besides.
I thank you for the sacrifice you made in giving us your only begotten son in atonement for our sins – I thank you Jesus that you loved us enough to bear your life on the cross, so that we may be able to walk with you and enter into a relationship with you.

I come before you now to confess the sins of my carnal nature: my stubbornness, lack of patience, my pride, my selfishness, conceitedness, resentfulness, bitterness, anger, moodiness, ungratefulness, self-pity, egotistical mindset, lack of a giving heart, wicked thoughts, revengeful thoughts, lust, sexual desires, lack of self-control, sexual immorality, dishonesty, lying, fearfulness and doubt and any other sins that seek to draw me away from your presence; I give them all to you and ask that you cleanse me from all of it.

I thank you Lord for helping me to self-examine myself and opening my eyes to my sins so that I can see that I can do nothing without you. I thank you Lord, that by my confession of my sins, by your word I know that you are faithful to forgive me of my sin. That by your blood you have cleansed me from all unrighteousness so that I may be clean and empty for you to fill me with your Holy Spirit and its fruits of; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control.

I present myself to you as alive from the dead, a vessel of love and an instrument of righteousness through Christ Jesus. I make myself completely available to you so that the Holy Spirit can lead and guide me to do Your Will. I yield myself to you and your commands, wherever you ask me to go, whatever you ask me to do I will do.
Your word says, “How much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him..” So I come before you now and ask that you fill me with your Holy Spirit.

I thank you for the dwelling of your Spirit in me and I pray that your works will be done through me by its power.

In the name of your son, Jesus Christ, I pray. Amen.

 

 

The above prayer I adapted from the book, “Spirit-Controlled Temperament” – by Tim LaHaye. Ch.8, pg. 118. ‘How to be filled with the Holy Spirit.’

1) Examine yourself for sin – (Acts 20:28, 1 Cor. 11:28)

2) Confess all known sin – (1 John 1:9, 2 Tim. 2:21)

3) Submit yourself completely to God – (Rom. 6:11-13)

4) Ask to be filled with the Holy Spirit – (Luke 11:13)

5) Believe you are filled with the Holy Spirit and thank Him – (Rom. 14:23, 1 Thess. 5:18, Luke 11:13)

Daily!!! ❤

If you have any questions or want to know more, then please feel free to contact me. By leaving a comment in the box below I will be able to get back to you as soon as I can. Love and blessings xx

One thought on “Prayer to be filled with the Holy Spirit

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.