25.02.12

I had a dream last night that I was showing my housemate pictures of my wedding, I looked beautiful, I was dressed in the purest white dress and I looked so happy. She asked me if there was a picture of me and my groom and I said the only one we have is where everyone is around is in a circle (unity). I just remember being very happy. Anyway the Spirit this morning Romans 7 on my heart and this is what I got from it.

Romans 7:4, “So my brothers and sisters, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit for God…”
v.6, “But now, by to what once bound us, we have been released from the law so that we serve in the new way of the spirit, and not in the old way of the written code.”

John 1:1, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life and that life was the light of all mankind.”

If the spirit is the Holy Spirit and the written code is the scrolls of the Old Testament, does this mean that most or all of the laws of Moses, Joshua etc. should be disregarded and that instead we should live by the law Christ laid down? And what are these laws? – did He not give and renew the 10 commandments, did He not say that He was the only way to the Father, (through His death and resurrection – “…raised from the dead…”) then He must be the law and if we follow and abide by the law then that must mean that we should follow and abide by him for He is the law; (In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God, He was with God in the beginning).
If the Word was God then Christ must also be the Word; therefore the Word must also be law (Christ is law) the Word who was with Him in the beginning. Therefore, everything He does we should do too for He is perfect in God’s sight; our laws bound into one. Instead of God giving us a set of rules like the Israelites and having the consequence of death for when they sinned, He took those rules and made an example of them in the Son who also took on the consequence of our sins and putting them to death along with our sins so that we may live (not die – released from the law) according to Him – God’s perfect law.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.